Friday Fictioneers – We Were Just Children

FFbenches

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

 

Sitting behind me, as fate would have it, as you drag your finger across my back, I know it’s you.  The faintest touch of a dizzily dragging finger that makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck like you knew it would.  But we were just children.

 

And you were still just a child when you passed to the other side; when you knocked on my door and asked to come back.  It was too late.  I felt a guilt it my heart I didn’t know was there, like you knew I would.  But we were just children.

 


One thought on “Friday Fictioneers – We Were Just Children”

  1. I’m not sure I understand it correctly, but to me it reads like growing up, and maybe making different choices, separates best friends, and once the rift is there, it can only be closed when both want it. It has a great rhythm, and the repetition is powerful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

